Home > CrossFit > Injuries Suck aka CrossFit WOD 3

Injuries Suck aka CrossFit WOD 3

Today was suppose to be Square One CrossFit WOD #3:

  1. 10 box jumps
  2. 10 knees to elbows

Unfortunately it became quite clear during the warm-up push-ups that I pulled something, what seems to be a lower part of the abdominal muscle.  I couldn’t do any push-ups without serious pain, skipping (practicing double-unders) wasn’t a problem, rowing was a little tough,  certainly seems to be a muscle pull.  Box jumps were a little uncomfortable, but knees to elbows on the chin-up bar was excruciating.  Unfortunately when you’re going from “Couch to Active” your bound to get some “bruises” along the way, all one can do is try to minimize the damage, and with that we decided that today’s WOD just wasn’t in the cards for me.

So today we kept it simple, I gave a Tabata Squats a try, here’s how to do them yourself:

Alternating 20 Seconds of Squats, 10 seconds rest for total of 4 minutes.  Your “score” is your lowest number of squats from any 20 second period.  The secret is to pace yourself, but the 3rd or 4th set you will REALLY start to feel it.  I was doing pretty consistently 10’s and 9’s but dipped to 8 and finished with an 11 so my “score” is an 8.  I will improve on this, but it was a good constant pace.  I really am disappointed I didn’t at least do 10, but I’m sure I’ll do much better than 10 next time.  Secret is to not rush out of the gate and do 20 in the first 20 seconds.  Feel free to try Tabata with push-ups, sit-ups or whatever else you can come up with.

As for my injury, I know I did it with the kettlebells from the other night, I remember a sudden “tug” but didn’t think anything of it.  That’s a lesson to listen to my body!  So no WODs for me until next weekend at the earliest, in the mean time I’m going to take it easy and do some running which doesn’t seem to cause me any pain, plus with running I get to play with my Garmin Forerunner 305 which is totally cool! 🙂 Now I only ask that mother nature cooperate.

I’m really enjoying this!

Categories: CrossFit Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

